I woke up this morning feeling accomplished and excited.

I have been obsessing over a certain scene for some time now and I have been anticipating writing it with both dread and excitement. I knew what I wanted to portray but it was going to be a challenge because I was eager to experiment with a different technique. 

I have always admired pieces narrated using stream of consciousness. For this particular scene, I wanted to convey a sudden switch in my protagonist’s experience. My aim was to reflect this transition through the tone and pace and evoke the change in the reader as experienced by the character.

I was damn near ready to abandon the idea because although I have dabbled with the stream of thought method in earlier shorter works, I doubted whether I could pull it off or if the end result would be good enough to include in the final manuscript.

I’ll be honest, I still don’t know if it is good enough or pages of nonsense I’ll eventually scrap and pretend never happened. I do, however feel satisfied that I attempted it and didn’t give into fear and self-doubt. That in itself, is an accomplishment for me and the process of trying something new has left me rejuvenated. I had enormous fun with it and found the technique quite liberating. If nothing else, it was a great creative exercise.

 

About samanthaslk1

Reader/Daydreamer/Writer Currently writing a neo noir action/suspense novel.

Posted on May 27, 2015, in The Start To All Things. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Most of my work begins as stream, and then I boil it down through revisions to get at where my mind was trying to wonder on its own.
    It’s also a great excercise in finding your words before they’re diluted by the conscious which drives the story.

    John

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment